Humble Roots

Customer Testimonials

We’d like to thank our customers (newbies and long-timers) for continually lifting our spirits with compliments and cheer. Here is a sample of the testimonials and kudos we receive. If you too have a comment to share, please contact us at share@sigonas.com.

  • "Thank you for your great service, which is an additional plus to your excellent produce. Because I am a 'scratch' cook, I can find almost everything I need at Sigona's, along with informed help in choosing produce. The produce, itself, is the best in the entire area. P.S. I'm really enjoying the recipes supplied with your 'bonus' offerings." (Judy - Nov. 13, 2013)
  • "Love the recipe for the Eggplant Napoleons from this week, and the Delicata Squash from last week! Yum. I already bought squash again, and eggplant is now going to be a staple on my list…I sincerely appreciate your weekly [newsletter] and have come to depend on it to broaden my meal repertoire! Tell your vendors, ‘Thank you,’ as well." (Karin - Oct. 28, 2013)
  • "We just LOV E your store. We moved back to this area after spending a dozen years in San Luis Obispo and we're so happy to see things are better than ever at Sigona's. We frequent both of your stores" (Lisa - Aug. 27, 2013)
  • "Thanks for your great coupons and most especially for the great quality of your store." (Fran - Aug. 26, 2013)
  • "I come into town twice a year to visit my son. Your market is one of the first places I go. Your cheese department as well as the produce department can't be beat. Your staff is friendly and helpful." (Anita - Mar. 28, 2013)
  • “Hey! I wanted to tell you that I went shopping at the Sigona’s at Stanford. The customer service they provided was excellent. One employee was happy to help me pick out ripe avocados. Another employee noticed that I was holding a few things and offered to get me a shopping basket. Everyone was super friendly. I really appreciate it. You really can’t find that level of service anywhere.” (Maria - Mar. 4, 2013)
  • When I moved to Palo Alto a few years back, I was really underwhelmed by the quality of food available to me. (Granted, I was *super* lazy about driving anywhere and basically just walked/biked within a 3 mile radius of the Stanford Hospital area.) I felt like I had the option of buying terrible produce at Safeway or buying expensive terrible produce at Andronico's.

    Sigona's has to be one of the best domestic discoveries of my life. The olive-oil alcove is a treasure in its own right - if you've ever wanted to try tens of varieties of balsamic vinegar and fresh olive oil, this is your Elysium. The produce brought back my love of cooking. The weekly treats that come with at $30 purchase are often surprising and delightful. I've since moved up to SF, but I still come back from time to time just because I so love Sigona's! (Lauren - Dec. 21, 2012)
  • Thank you for playing real Christmas music in the background for your shoppers. It really added to my shopping experience last week! And thanks for your seasonal variety of veggies and fruits and more. (Mary - Dec. 18, 2012)
  • asparagus_and_balsamic_white.jpgSo glad to see your online store opening. I tell so many people about your balsamics and how I use them, but when they ask where they can buy them, I could only say to go to Redwood City or Palo Alto. Now I can give them a viable alternative.

    Although I no longer live close to you, I have shopped with you since you opened and still do so now when we are down from Grass Valley. At that time I load up on balsamics and olive oils and anything else interesting you have at the time. I have given many people gifts of the flavored balsamics and they love them and want more receipes for using them. Here's to many more years of Sigona's excellent products! (Patricia - Dec. 17, 2012)
  • My goodness Paul! Your Sigona's balsamic fig vinegar and blood orange fusion olive oil mixed together creates a heavenly salad dressing. It is so flavorful! I did not need to add anything to it! Best salad ever! Being able to taste the variety of your products made it a real fun adventure for us food lovers. (Lydia - Dec 8, 2012)
  • I love your newsletter, and this time I especially loved the video of Wattle and Comb (and the recipe that followed). You guys are the best! (Deb - Oct. 17, 2012)
  • You guys rock. Can I just say I always get great service there. It's nice to be greeted with warm smiles from the produce fellas. The produce is always fresh, beautiful and yummy. And I am so happy to say that I now buy my poultry from you - ever since you confirmed that you use vendors that treat their chicken humanely. I love getting something free in your newsletters too. Keep up the great work! ("ladytiger" - Sept. 5, 2012)
  • A huge thank you to Gloria Gandolfo and the rest of Sigona's management team. Good food, good service, and a customer-service oriented staff. I look forward to visiting again. (Patti - July 3, 2012)

  • I called the store in advance and picked up some steaks, which I grilled for dinner last night. Superb!! Also served with some of your amazing artichokes and Blue Lake beans! There was something about this (the recent catch, the frenzy over the fish in the barrels) that felt wonderfully neighborhood-y. A rarity in these times… Except at Sigona’s :)(Claudia – May 6, 2012)
  • Yesterday my wife visited your Redwood City store and found the salmon was due to arrive in 2 hours. She could not wait and it looked like our dream of a salmon dinner would be dashed. Then Carmelo came into the picture and since he lives near us he delivered our dinner himself after work! Kudos to our most innovative farmers’ market and thanks for a great salmon dinner with your balsamic vinegar on the salad as a bonus. (Hobart – May 5, 2012)
  • “Talk about awesome customer service – I asked if Sigona’s could find ramps (a.k.a wild leeks), which are wildly popular in NY and Chicago restaurants, but not well-known here. They did some investigating and kept me posted (via Facebook). I just got back home with ramps, which I’m eager to use in tonight’s dinner recipe. Oh, and of course I bought a few other things (more produce, organic coffee) while I was there. Thanks, Sigona’s!” (Debra – Apr. 18, 2012)
  • “Sigona’s flowers are always sooo beautiful and inviting. Keep up the great produce, never forget your roots! We’ve been customers for almost a quarter century.” (Kelly – Apr. 16, 2012)
  • “I love your stores. Five stars on Yelp from me. I use your coupons and I just want to say that those mini roses I got this week in Redwood City are just gorgeous. Thank you so much!” (Pat – Feb. 15, 2012)
  • “I’d like to express my great appreciation of the floral department in Redwood City. My sister-in-law decided to get married on Thursday Jan 19 with 2 days notice. I really wanted to get flowers for her, but didn’t think it would be possible. On Wednesday I spoke to one of the employees in your floral department to see whether there was anything they might be able to do. Not only did they put together, with less then 24 hours lead time, a bridal bouquet and 2 smaller bouquets for the bride’s 2 young daughters, but when I found out Thursday morning that the groom’s daughter was also going to be at the wedding, an employee quickly put together a third small bouquet so that all three girls could feel special. The flowers were lovely, and were much appreciated. Thank you very much for making my sister-in-laws special day that much more special.” (Elizabeth – Jan. 19, 2012)
  • gizdichapples.jpg“One of my co-workers had given me some of your dried strawberries.  They were wonderful.” (Cynthia – Jan. 5, 2012)
  • “Sigona’s was part of my routine growing up in Redwood City, and is still a place where my friends and family still purchase much of their fresh produce.” (Aldo – Dec. 20, 2011)
  • “I buy all my fruit, vegetables ect.. at Sigona’s. you are the best shop on the peninsula. I am always recommending your stores to people.” (Annie – Nov. 11, 2011)
  • “A couple of months ago we went on a trip to San Francisco with company we had from Germany. On our way we stopped at your market and picked up Balsamic vinegars and cheeses as well as fruits and breads for the rest of the trip. We really enjoyed all your products but one thing really stuck out: Your Golden pineapple white balsamic vinegar and everybody has been asking about it.” (Jeanette – Nov. 7, 2011)
  • “Great store.” (Y – Oct. 13, 2011)
  • “Fabulous Fall is here and so are your lovely festive harvest decorations. Your crew has done a beautiful job prepping pumpkins and Fall decor for display. I love this time of year at Sigona’s. I’m also happy to see more frequent freebies back for spending 30 or more. Thanks friends!”  (Johnny – Oct. 8, 2011)
  • “Sigona Market ~ It’s a honor to have our fruit featured in your store. Thank you, Andy’s Orchard. P.S. We love your outstanding cheese selections.” (Andy’s Orchard – July 16, 2011)
  • Took about a tablespoon of your dark chocolate vinegar and mixed it with 6 ounces of Lifeway Kefir lowfat plain. Fantastic!!” (Dan — June 13, 2011)
  • Our family has been lucky enough to have several members go to Stanford. Going to visit always had an ulterior motive, Sigona’s. Well, the last child just graduated and we made the usual Sigona’s run. I have just realized that my adult children have run off with my large bag of Kent Mangos. I will be calling tomorrow to replenish! Thanks for showing us what REAL fruit is!” (Camille — June 14, 2011)
  • “Sigona’s has the best selection of Olive Oil and specialty cooking ingredients around. They are very friendly and their pricing can’t be beat. For anyone who hasn’t been to Sigona’s you don’t know what you’re missing, especially if you are really into cooking! Thanks for carrying all the unique items, vegetables, peppers, olive oils and more Sigona’s!” (Nathan — June 22, 2011)
  • “I have been shopping at your Redwood City location for just over a year, having moved here from San Francisco.  I use to shop at Rainbow Co-op in San Francisco, and was afraid I would not find anything close what it provides, but I found you! Some of what I enjoy most, are your olive bar, dried fruit, and raw nut selections. Cheers.” (Thomas — June 25, 2011)
  • In response to a recipe for Grilled Wild King Salmon with Cherry Tomato-Basil Relish: “I made this last night for a dinner guest and he said it was the best meal I’ve ever made for him. I served it with your fresh corn on the cob and a big salad. It was wonderful!” (Patti – June 27, 2011)
  • “I read all the recipes they all seem  so delicious I wish I can cook all of it, but I will try some when my children visit with me. In the mean time I”ll be happy buying my fruits and vegies at your store, sometimes I shop in RWC and other times I do my shopping @ Stamford. Thank you for sharing family secrets with us especially for the ones like me that do not know how to cook.” (Tammy - May 3, 2011)
  • “We love Sigonas for all produce, fruits and flowers and all the employees are kind and helpful and friendly.” (Una – April 20, 2011)
  • navaloranges.jpg“Thank you for recently making the coupons easier to print with less waste.  We wish everyone at Sigona’s the best for 2011.” (Christopher – Dec. 30, 2010)
  • “I love shopping Sigona’s — I’d come in more often if I lived closer  :>)  I am especially happy that you carry the flavored Balsamic vinegars and olive oils. Happy Holidays to all!!” (Paula – Dec. 19, 2010)
  • “By the way, I love shopping at Sigona’s. Thanks for always having quality products from local suppliers. I try very hard to support our local farmers and artisanal producers, and you are a huge part of my success in achieving that goal each week as I shop for my family. California first, everything else next! ” (Aneesh – Dec. 15, 2010)
  • Great Pomegranate Recipes can’t wait to get started. Just got back from a one month trip to France and for the first time couldn’t wait to get back to have your large selection of fresh fruits and veggies.” (Vicky – Nov. 3, 2010)
  • “I shop at Sigona’s Market often. I love all of the fresh produce, I will never buy them at the grocery store again!!! I like you olives, frozen foods (just tried a new on – the mashed potato hordourves & love them, your balsamic vinegar, and of course, the wonderful triple creme brie.” (Judy – Sept. 8, 2010)
  • “I really enjoyed our field trip to Sigona’s Farmers Market.  I came away with some great tips about how to buy fresher, more flavorful fruits & vegetables.  The olive oil tasting was fun too!” (Kathy – August 20, 2010, following a tour of Sigona’s with the Holistic Mom’s Network, San Mateo County chapter)
  • “I was thrilled to see the “Wall of Greens” in your Redwood City store. I grew up eating Chinese greens of all sorts and there are so many delicious varieties, but it has been hard to find them outside of Chinese markets. I’ve never been tempted to buy them Safeway or other big-box store. They always look sad, segregated off in the “Asian section,” along with plastic bags of rotting bean sprouts. So it was so great to see baby bok choy, yu choy and gai lan mixed in with Swiss chard (another overlooked green), presented in such an inviting way. I hope that section has been a success with the rest of your customer base. I always take advantage of it when I go in and keep my fingers crossed that it will continue!” (Lydia – August 16, 2010)
  • “Hi, Just wanted to let you know I bought some of the tiny sour green grapes you had last month. I made jam out of them and it turned out really good. I used 7 cups of sugar and they still had a bite to them. It would be good served with pork or game meat.” (Regina – July 14, 2010)
  • “A neighbor accused me of not exposing my son to more germs (because he was never sick!). Charlie’s pediatrician told me the reason Charlie was such a healthy boy was because of how we fed him. I immediately felt grateful for Sigona’s…. I have been preparing Sigona’s Swiss chard, asparagus, French green beans, broccoli and so many other vegetables for my son ever since his doctor told me I could start him on “solids,” and he loves almost every vegetable now.  He has been eating Sigona’s incredible fruits year round, too, every single day. His favorites are apricots and blueberries, avocados and strawberries.  And, he loves their fantastic cheeses and cured meats. Paul and Mel know that I tell people “Charlie is part German, part Croatian and part Sigona!”Nobody’s prosciutto comes close to the one you find in the Sigona’s Redwood City market. Have you tried their Red Pepper Relish and fresh cream cheese? What a treat! And I love that they have so many organic products to choose from!I don’t know what I would do without Sigona’s – they have the best prices, the absolute finest fruits and vegetables, an eclectic array of gourmet foods (Charlie loves their anchovies and dried apricots), they are knowledgeable and honest (and give the best advice), and they are just the nicest group of people around.  They genuinely care.Over the years, my dining table and patio have included wonderful dishes prepared with ingredients from Sigona’s – my dinner parties and brunches have been successful, beautiful and delicious because of them! And, now that I’m a “single mom,” I know I can count on saving money at Sigona’s.  I count the Sigona family as dear friends and thank God for them.This is one lady who will be shopping at Sigona’s forever….Your biggest fan.” (Theresa – July 1, 2010)
  • “Love, Love your newsletters.   I hope I can get into the store for the strawberries before vacation but not sure if I have time.  Love the receipts for them also.   Keep up the good work.  By the way, want to comment on the personnel….very friendly and helpful!! Thanks!” (Joan – June 4, 2010)
  • “Your latest newsletter is full of interesting information. Congratulations on doing a great job and thanks!” (Linda – June 2, 2010)
  • “Your market is mecca to me. We are trying to buy a house in Redwood City primarily because of your store, even though otherwise it’s not the most practical location for us! We used to live on the peninsula but bought a house in the east bay several years ago. I haven’t been able to find any good place to buy fruit that is as fresh as your, not to mention your selection, convenience, and reasonable prices. I still make pilgrimages out there to stock up on fruit and your amazing dried mango and apricots, but it’s hard with my 1-year-old daughter to make the trip as often as I crave. I miss being able to go to your market regularly so much that we are really trying to move back! Thank you so much for existing!” (Laura – June 2, 2010)
  • “Very interesting newsletter. I tried some strawberries and they were definitely a cut above what’s available elsewhere. Keep up the good work.” (Barry – April 21, 2010)
  • cheese.jpg“Thank you for introducing yourself and personalizing our first visit to Sigona’s!  Even though Fremont isn’t far from Redwood City, it’s a little a stretch from our local grocery store.   The produce, variety of specialty foods and customer service is well worth the drive and experience.  As we had mentioned in the store, we have been looking for English peas since last summer and were pleased to find that Sigona’s sells them after watching a segment covered on Malou’s Review.   We purchased a variety of foods and just finished eating some English peas…yummmm!   Thanks again, we’ll be back soon!” (Audrey – April 10, 2010)
  • “Sigona’s of Redwood City is my favorite store. Just going there delights my senses and puts a smile in my core.” (Dorothy – March 25, 2010)
  • “Thank you giving me the opportunity to say thank you! For 20 some years I have enjoyed, and appreciated the consistency of so many things: Quality, freshness of all vegetables, meat, nuts, And your employees are beyond compare, they are exemplary in customer service. I have lived in three states, never have been so well treated. Thank you.” (Billie – March 24, 2010)
  • You have the BEST dried fruits! I like how you carry California-grown products – they don’t waste fossil fuels! (Wini – March 1, 2010)
  • “I recently discovered your market when I was shopping with a friend in Palo Alto.  I am from Sacramento.  I bought a bottle of your Persian Lime Olive Oil.  Can’t tell you how much I love it and the price too.  I am hoping to get another opportunity to visit your area so I can buy more.” (Sharon – February 12, 2010)
  • “Also, just wanted to let you know that my mother (who lives in Southern Cal — just north of San Diego) was visiting and very impressed with your selection of “Asian” produce (such as Thai broccoli and yu choy) and the reasonableness of the prices.  Please continue to stock such produce!” (Rowena – February 10, 2010)
  • “I wanted to take a moment to show you all some gratitude for your spectacular store, caring customer service, wonderful workers and fun & informative newsletters. I love the tidbits, recipes and coupons. I get joy every week when I get your newsletters in my email box and also when I shop in the store and fill my cart up full and plenty! My weekly wholesale box of Thai young coconuts keep me pretty happy too. The love of your family, workers, customers and fresh food SHOWS. Your entire store radiates good energy. I have a grateful and humble heart. Happy Holidays my friends. Thank you for ALL that you do!!! Keep up the great work!!!” (Johnny – December 3, 2009)
  • “Yes, I do indeed receive your emails and with the new additions – like Chef ‘s Corner I find it more than ever not only helpful but good reading.  Thanks!” (Ray & Peggy – November 18, 2009)
  • I count on your newsletter.  Using Grandpa Sigona’s information I harvested a bunch of different heirloom tomato seeds which I am looking forward to planting next year. I also watch for your recipes.  I cannot survive without all your specialty balsamic vinegars (tangerine is my favorite), my most recent addition is the vanilla bean.  I made a terrific dip for my fresh steamed green beans with the vanilla vinegar…Thanks, I really do consider all of you part of my family and I hope you think the same of me.” (Karen – November 9, 2009)
  • “Thanks for taking the time to do your stories, recipes, etc.  I am also of Sicilian Ancestry…both parents’ parents were born in Sicily and as far back as they can trace.  So it is nice being only one nationality…Sicilian.  Thank you and will be visiting soon now that Costco is in the finishing stages.” (Rosemarie – October 8, 2009)
  • “Hello all, great that you enjoyed the German Oktoberfest with all its good specialties. And yes, the Germans like to cook and bake with apples – I include them in my Red Cabbage and Sauerkraut as well with Schweinebraten (Roast pork) and Apfelstrudel (apple strudel). Looking forward to taste and buy your apples soon!” (Siglinde – October 7, 2009)
  • “I am writing to thank you for the great Marinara sauce you so generously gave Scott and I a couple of weeks ago at the market. We were very impressed by your great customer service and the free items we were given when we spent 50$. Your staff is so friendly and we will definitely return to Sigona’s market soon! We enjoyed the marinara sauce last night on Spaghetti and it did have an amazing flavor!” (Gracy – September 22, 2009)
  • “Thanks for the great information…appreciate the effort.  I will be down again soon to shop at Sigona’s. My mother’s father was a gardner in Sicily…that is where all my ancestors originated, on both sides.” (Rosemarie – August 12, 2009)
  • “Thank you so much for your help in selecting the BEST and sweetest fruit and food that your store has.  [My son] really looks forward to our shopping trips at Signoa’s — he says to me, “Go ‘gona’s.  See Odie!”  I’m sure he loves going to Sigona’s because you are so sweet to him and give him samples of yummy fruit to eat while I shop. I like going to Sigona’s because you have the best locally grown in season fruits and vegetables!”  (Bernice – August 10, 2009)
  • apple.jpg“Perfect timing on your produce  tip article.  We recently started buying fruits and  vegetables from your store.  However, the peaches  are getting soft and mushy before we have a chance to eat  them.  Your article on peaches let me know they need to be placed in  the refrigerator to keep them from over ripening, Thank you.” (The Lagans – July 28, 2009)
  • “I drive from the east bay to Sigona’s for the best fruit and produce I have found and the coupon just makes it even better. Thanks.” (Judy – July 22, 2009)
  • “Sigona’s is the best – great owners and workers, great products and services! Walking into Sigona’s is like walking into a giant hug from the fabulous workers to the fresb fruits and vegetables. Sigona’s is always so lively from the curious customers, music jams, vivid produce colors, sales, friendly staff and juicy fruit samples – talk about fiesta!…” (Johnny – July 21, 2009)
  • “OMG – great newsletter and love the coupons – a real incentive for my family to come shop Signona on a regular basis and spend more $ with you too… plus love your increasing variety of offerings including chicken!  Keep up the great work and fresh produce…Best regards, Roger.” (Roger – July 6, 2009)
  • “Just wanted to drop you a line to say how much we appreciate the informative newsletter, recipes, and coupons. We do almost all of our grocery shopping at Sigona’s and value the quality, selection, and variety. The newsletter (and all the goodies it contains) is an added plus! Thanks Sigona’s–Lindsay.” (Lindsay – June 19, 2009)
  • “My name is Shirley and you were so nice to come over to me on Friday last to introduce yourself, and help me with my decisions. I know you probably introduce yourself to many many customers, of which I think is such a nice habit to have. Hopefully your store will continue that practice in the future.  It really makes one feel special to have a ‘contact’ with your patrons. And I also thank you for the Sigona’s shopping bag and the little bag of dried Mango. Driving home in the rain, eating the Mango, made me smile at the contact.  So thanks once again. Until I return, Shirley.” (Shirley – May 4, 2009)
  • Hello, thanks for the crackers and brie.  With Costco closed i might not have driven over there, but what would I do without fresh veggies?  Anyway, Thanks for the inducement to come by. (Tim from Woodside – May 2, 2009)
  • “I recently visited your market last Friday and was VERY impressed with your produce and selections! I told one of the employees there that I would move to California just to have food like this all the time! Your employees were all very friendly and knowledgeable and I have never been more impressed with fresh produce in my whole life! I think you should consider opening up a farmers market in Minnesota!!” (Brittney – April 30, 2009)
  • “Hi, I love your descriptions of the farmers and the special fruit and why it’s special. I’m really glad I signed up for your newsletter and I feel very fortunate to have Sigona’s in my area! Robina.” (Robina – March 25, 2009)

You can also find reviews on Yelp. Both our Stanford store and our Redwood City store have profiles on Yelp.